EDSA or EPIFANIO DELOS SANTOS AVENUE is one of the most important and famous transportation corridors that pass through six cities. It is about 23.8kms or equivalent to 1,561 PRO-BASKETBALL COURTS. The 11 km–stretch is in Quezon City while the remaining is divided among the cities of Caloocan, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Makati and Pasay
In reality, EDSA or C-4 Rd can only accommodate approximately 200,000 vehicles per day (max carrying capacity) but according to a columnist, it exceeded the expectations and ballooned to 360,000 vehicles per day.
The speed limit being implemented here: 40kph for classes 1 and 30kph for classes 2 and 3.
During rush hour, vehicles move to at an average of 15kph.
Currently, there are 10 existing condominiums erected (as of press time and still counting) right along the stretch of EDSA.
In the 1930s, during its construction, it was named North-South Circumferential Road.
Soon after the liberation of the Philippines from the clutches of the Japanese Imperial government, EDSA was renamed “Avenida Diecinueve de Junio” or June 19 Avenue, intentionally named after the birth of our national hero, Dr. Jose P. Rizal. Subsequently, the avenue was again renamed by American administrators to “Highway 54” due to its misconception that it was 54 kilometers in length. But after the passage of RA 2140 in 1959 under the administration of President Carlos P. Garcia, the highway was renamed EDSA after a Rizal scholar, jurist, academician, and nobleman. Although, there was a move or suggestion before to replace its name.

Go For Gold-Larga Pilipinas’ second EDITION: EDSA-C5 Race

In November 2018, Go For Gold sponsored Larga Pilipinas, one of the major and growing cycling events in the archipelago, utilized EDSA, in coordination with the MMDA and LGUs, hosted their second edition—the highly attended cycling edition in Philippine history. No other cycling race has ever done that so far in the history of Philippine cycling.
Currently, EDSA covers Balintawak terminus to SM mall of Asia, its southernmost tip.
It is part of the 3,517 kms Pan-Philippine Highway or Maharlika Highway that connects Luzon to Samar, Leyte, and Mindanao. FYI, the Pan-Philippine Highway or Maharlika Hiway, a primary national road, also known as AH 26, is designated internationally as part of the Asian Highway Network, which connects the Philippines to 32 Asian-member nations for international trade relations and other economic purposes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Just Pro Cycling

all words by Mike Franchetti

SportsOttawa.com / Ottawa Sportspage

Your Not-For-Profit Voice for Local Sport

RJ Cycling Camps

Cycling Holidays and Training Camps in Spain

%d bloggers like this: