Go For Gold youngster Aidan James Mendoza becomes the stage 3 standout

Go For Gold (G4G) youngster Aidan James Mendoza overpowered veteran and rookie riders after an impressive sprint to the finish. He capped off the race 4 hours, 0 minutes, and 20 seconds at an average speed of 40.69 kph. This is the same clocking EXN Mervin Corpuz, EXN Ryan Tugawin, TPA Cpl Cris Joven, TNE Marcelo Felipe, PNSI Ronald Oranza, DRE Edson Corbadora, PNSI John Mark Camingao registered in a massive sprint to the finish in Legazpi City, Albay.

G4G Mendoza is the newest stage winner after yesterday’s domination of Excellent Noodles. His win coincidentally happened on the day of Mr. Jeremy Go’s birthday.

Meanwhile, Team Excellent Noodles (EXN) now conquers almost all classifications except sprint leadership worn by PNSI rookie Jeremy Lizardo, after the 163-kilometer Sorsogon City to Legazpi City stage 3.

Despite completing the race short of 7 seconds to Mendoza, Jan Paul Morales still has enough time to defend his overall leadership. Morales now has a cumulative clocking of 5 hours, 31 minutes, and 59 seconds. Trailing the red jersey wearer are his teammates Ryan Tugawin with a difference of 40 seconds, Santy Barnachea with 44 seconds, Mervin Corpuz with 52 seconds, and Mar Sudario with 1 minute and 31 seconds. Seemingly, EXN dominates the top 5 general classifications.

Meanwhile, Palo, Leyte pride (EXN) Mar Francis Sudario likewise tops the Under-23 this time. In the same way, (EXN) Joshua Pascual outshines his rookie contemporaries as he governed the first-ever rookie classification.

Of the one hundred three riders, only ninety-six riders completed the race. Three riders reportedly did not finish (DNF) the race while three others, were declared OTF (outside time limit). However, Dreyna rider Jay Lampawog was the only one disqualified.

Sadly, top PNSI climber Junrey Navarra did not finish the race (DNF). During the author’s phone conversation with the PNSI powerhouse, Navarra explained that he experienced severe heart palpitations 70 kilometers from the zero mark, near the boundary of Albay and Sorsogon. Navarra added: “Parang aatakihin ako, nagising ako alas-dose at hindi ko na alam kung nakatulog pa ako, first time ko naramdaman ito, bawi ako next time,” But according to PNSI Coach Reinhard B. Gorantes, Navarra was diagnosed earlier with minimal tuberculosis and he is undergoing treatment.

So far, TNE Xyrus dela Cruz, PNSI Junrey Navarra, VPharma Euzel Jhon Posadas and Vantage Point Ilocos Norte rider Daniele Ashley Bartolome are the ill-starred riders who did not finish this LBC Ronda Pilipinas edition.

Meanwhile, Team Quezon Province riders Reylan Lusterio, Jhonmark Lumanglas and Vantage Ilocos Norte rider Renmark Viernes finished the race outside the time limit.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Just Pro Cycling

all words by Mike Franchetti

SportsOttawa.com / Ottawa Sportspage

Your Not-For-Profit Voice for Local Sport

RJ Cycling Camps

Cycling Holidays and Training Camps in Spain

%d bloggers like this: